Watch: The Black Keys Release “Gold on the Ceiling (BBC Session)” of ‘El Camino’ (10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition), out November 5th on Nonesuch


Watch: The Black Keys Release “Gold on the Ceiling (BBC Session)” of ‘El Camino’ (10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition), out November 5th on Nonesuch

The Black Keys have shared an unreleased recording of their single “Gold on the Ceiling”, from a 2012 session of BBC Radio 1 Zane Lowe. The track is part of the tenth anniversary special edition of the group’s seventh studio album. El Camino, due November 5 on Nonesuch Records. El Camino (10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) is available in several formats, including a Super Deluxe Edition of five LPs or four CDs that includes a remastered version of the original album; an unreleased concert recording Live in Portland, ME; the 2012 BBC Radio 1 Zane Lowe session; an Electro-Vox 2011 session; a complete photo book; a limited edition poster and lithograph; and a “new car scent” air freshener. A three-LP edition, which includes the remastered album and live recording, will also be available, along with a special fan club version of the three-LP set. The Super Deluxe version will also be available digitally. Pre-order El Camino (10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) here. You can watch an unboxing video of the LP Super Deluxe version five here:

El Camino was produced by Danger Mouse and The Black Keys and was recorded in the group’s new hometown of Nashville in the spring of 2011. The Black Keys won three awards at the 55th Annual Grammy Awards for El Camino—Best Rock Performance, Best Rock Song, and Best Rock Album — among other global accolades. In the UK, the band was nominated for a BRIT Award (Best International Band) and a NME Award (Best International Band). The week of the release, the group performed on Saturday Night Live, The Colbert report, and the Late Show with David Letterman, and later that year, gave their first show at Madison Square Garden.

Rolling stone, who featured the band on their cover around the exit, greeted El Camino for bringing back “the raw, riffy power of the pop lexicon” and calling it “the Keys greatest pop move to date, upping dark-hearted fuzz blasts with sleek, sexy choruses and glam flair from the 70s “. The Guardian said, “They sound like a band that thinks they made the best rock’n’roll album of the year, probably because that’s exactly what they did.”

In the newly written liner notes for El Camino (10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition), David Fricke says:

The story of the Black Keys’ seventh album, named after an automobile, long out of fashion and nowhere in the artwork, begins on a sidewalk in the middle of a blizzard. On the afternoon of January 9, 2011, singer-guitarist Dan Auerbach and drummer Patrick Carney stood on the sidewalk outside the Bowery Hotel in New York City, watched the weather turn bad, looked at each other and took the same decision: they had to get out of the way.

The day before, the duo marked another first in a season filled with them: the Black Keys’ first appearance on Saturday Night Live, performing “Howlin ‘for You” and “Tighten Up”, the singles of their last release, Brothers. Two days earlier, Brothers—The Keys’ Top Five debut album, released in May 2010 — became their first gold record, surpassing half a million sales thanks to strong FM turnover and a year of concerts, which is now expected to expand to ‘in 2011 with a prestigious seat at Coachella and victory tours in Europe and Australia.

The Keys “tried to settle down” after canceling the tour, Carney said. But it did not last. “I said, ‘We should just do another record.’ And I asked Dan if we should have Danger Mouse, “the modern hip-hop and rock producer real name Brian Burton, who worked on the Keys record in 2008, Attack and liberation, and co-produced “Tighten Up”. Auerbach and Carney didn’t have any new songs, but as the drummer notes, “Most of our records we don’t have material when we start. Brothers was made in the studio.”

In the UK, the record gave the band their first top 10 hit, and in the US, they debuted at No. 2 on the Billboard Top 200. The band was also the most-performed artist in the world. alternative and AAA radio formats in 2012 in the US. The first single from the album, “Lonely Boy”: reached No. 1 on the Alternative and AAA charts; he also entered the top 10 on Rock radio. The second single, “Gold on the Ceiling”, also reached number one on Alternative radio and the third single, “Little Black Submarines”, reached the top 3 on Alternative radio.

El Camino was certified Double Platinum in the United States; Platinum in UK, Belgium, France, Ireland and the Netherlands; Triple Platinum in Australia and New Zealand; Quadruple Platinum in Canada; and Gold in Austria, Denmark, Finland, Italy, Mexico, Norway, Spain and Switzerland. Among the singles on the album, “Lonely Boy” was certified double platinum in the United States, nine times platinum in Canada, triple platinum in Australia, platinum in New Zealand, and gold in Denmark and the United Kingdom. “Gold on the Ceiling” has been certified Platinum in the United States, Australia and Canada. “Little Black Submarines” has been certified Platinum in the United States. The Black Keys were also nominated for an MTV European Music Award in 2012.

Portraits of Michael Carney at Easy Eye Sound, Nashville TN. on March 21, 2011. Extract from the new photo book.

The Black Keys recently released their tenth studio album, Delta Kream, which was recorded at the Easy Eye Sound studio in Nashville. The album takes its name from William Eggleston’s iconic Mississippi photograph that appears on its cover. Delta Kream is available for purchase on all formats here.

Formed in Akron, Ohio in 2001, The Black Keys, who have been called “rock royalty” by The Associated Press and “one of the best rock ‘n’ roll bands on the planet” by Uncut, are guitarist / singer Dan Auerbach and drummer Patrick Carney. Cutting their teeth playing in small clubs, the band continued to tour sold-out arenas and released nine previous studio albums: Their Debut The big meeting (2002), followed by Thickening (2003) and Rubber factory (2004), as well as their releases on Nonesuch Records, Magic potion (2006), Attack and release (2008), Brothers (2010), El Camino (2011), Turn blue (2014) and, more recently, “Let’s dance” (2019), plus and a tenth anniversary edition of Brothers (2020). The group has won six Grammy Awards and one BRIT, and has headlined festivals in North America, South America, Mexico, Australia and Europe.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.