Rush Cover Artist Hugh Syme Discusses Creating ‘Moving Pictures’ Album Artwork (Audio)

On April 15, UMe/Mercury and Anthem records label groups continue the vast RUSH 40th Anniversary album series featuring new expanded editions of the band’s breakthrough 1981 release “Animated Pictures”embodying its well-deserved classic album status. “Moving Images – 40th Anniversary” will be available to fans in six distinct configurations, including (1) Super Deluxe Edition, (2) Three-CD Deluxe Edition, (3) Five-LP Deluxe Edition, (4) one LP, (5) Digital Deluxe Edition and (6) Dolby Atmos Digital Edition and can be pre-ordered here.

In the video below, the artist Hugues Syme recounts the creation of “Animated Pictures” iconic artwork from the album.

“Animated Pictures”, RUSHThe eighth studio album, originally released on February 12, 1981, and its adventurous yet accessible music catapulted the forward-thinking Canadian band to new heights as they began to navigate the demands of a new decade. . The seven songs of the album skilfully mixed RUSHthe intrinsic prowess of channeling its progressive roots into radio-friendly arrangements, a pattern the band had mastered to a T throughout their previous album, the rightly praised 1980s “Permanent Waves”. “Animated Pictures” was also the second of many RUSH recording sessions at The studio in Morin-Heights, Quebec, which was eventually dubbed the trio’s own staff Abbey Road recording studio.

The first title of the album, “Tom Sawyer”has become one of RUSHmost beloved FM favorites plus taking its rightful place as a perpetual concert staple for decades to come. Next, the group moves into the multigenerational dreamscape of “Red Tray”, which chronicles the thrills of high-stakes motor racing. The instrumental barn burner “YYZ”, affectionately named after Toronto Pearson International Airport’s identifying code, covers the full gamut of the band’s consistently impressive progressive tracks in less than four minutes flat. Side A ends with the luminescence of observation of “Footlight”a timeless, if not prescient, look at how introverted artists grapple with audience demands while trying to maintain a personal level of deserved intimacy.

Side B begins with the vast palette of “The Eye of the Camera”a ten-minute, multi-layered travelogue that offers a bird’s-eye view of New York’s inherent hustle and bustle, counterbalanced by London’s intense energy and deep-rooted history. “Witch hunt” (subtitled as “Part III of Fear”) offers a dark take on prejudice and mob mentality, while the album ends with the angular and avant-garde “Vital signs”a propelling track that clearly foreshadows a number of more adventurous musical directions RUSH would undertake as the ever-changing 1980s continued to unfold.

The Super Deluxe Edition includes three CDs, one Blu-ray audio disc and five high quality 180 gram black vinyl records. The set includes the Abbey Road Mastering Studios 2015 remastered edition of the album for the first time on CD, plus two discs of previously unreleased and newly restored bonus live content newly mixed from the original analog multi-tracks live by RUSHthe original producer, Brown Spongefeaturing the entirety of the band’s previously unreleased Toronto concert at Maple Leaf Gardens in Toronto, Ontario on March 25, 1981 (referred to here as “Live in YYZ 1981”). The fourth bonus disc is a Blu-ray Audio disc with the main album newly mixed from the original multitracks in Dolby Atmos (a RUSH catalog first!), Dolby TrueHD 5.1 and DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 surround sound as directed by famed producer/engineer Richard Chycki, alongside the previously available PCM stereo mix. The Blu-ray also includes four bonus videos: a brand new video for “YYZ” plus three remastered vintage promo videos for “Tom Sawyer”, “Footlight” and “Vital signs”. Additionally, all Super Deluxe Edition vinyl was cut via Direct to Metal Mastering (DMM) at half speed (another RUSH catalog first!) on five 180 gram audiophile discs.

The Super Deluxe Edition of “Moving Images – 40th Anniversary” will also include several exclusive items, including a 44-page hardcover book with never-before-seen photos and new artwork by the creator of the original album Hugues Syme, plus new artwork for each song; detailed cover notes by Kim Thayil (guitarist, SOUND GARDEN), The Claypools (bassist/singer, PREMIUM), Taylor Hawkins (drummer, FOO FIGHTERS), Bill Kelliher (guitarist, MASTODON), and Neil Sanderson (drummer, THREE DAYS GRACE); a Red tray model car mounted on a black perch with an MP40 nameplate; of them neil peart MP40 brand drum sticks; two embossed metal picks, one with each Geddy Lee and Alex Lifesonthe respective signatures engraved thereon; a replica of “Animated Pictures” program of the official tour of 1981; an MP40 logo enamel pin; a 3D lenticular lithograph “Moving Pictures in motion”; an 18×24 inch Toronto 1981 concert poster; a replica concert ticket from the 1981 Maple Leaf Gardens show; a 12×36 inch Rush Through The Years 1973-1981 poster; a YYZ baggage tag; and an All Access World Tour ’81 insert. All contents are housed in a premium lift-top box, which features cover artwork movingly reimagined by Hugues Syme.

The second configuration of “Moving Images – 40th Anniversary” will be released in a three-CD Deluxe Edition digipak that includes the newly remastered original album on CD 1 and the entire unreleased 1981 Toronto concert on CDs 2 and 3. Extras include a 24-page booklet with photos unpublished and illustrations redesigned by Symeas well as the aforementioned liner notes by Thayil, claypool, Hawkins, Kelliher and Sanderson.

The third “Animated Pictures” the setup will be offered as a five-LP deluxe edition, all housed in a case including a single-pocket jacket for the remastered original “Animated Pictures” on LP 1, and two gatefold covers for LPs 2-5 which include all 19 tracks of the complete, previously unreleased “Living in YYZ” 1981 concert. As noted above, all vinyl was cut for the very first time via half-speed direct-to-metal (DMM) mastering on 180-gram black audiophile vinyl. Extras include a 24-page booklet with never-before-seen photos, SymeThe reimagined artwork and new illustrations from , along with the full liner notes.

The fourth setup is an exclusive edition of an eCommerce LP, featuring the first-ever half-speed DMM vinyl pressing. It comes packaged in a premium, limited-edition gatefold jacket with printed sleeve, and each pressing comes with one of six randomly inserted. neil peart hand drawn lyric sheets.

The fifth configuration, the Digital Deluxe Edition, includes the original album and all 19 bonus live performances from Toronto, and is the digital equivalent of the three-CD Deluxe Edition.

Finally, the sixth configuration, the Dolby Atmos Digital Edition, is the digital equivalent of Richard Chyckithe masterful Atmos mix of seven tracks from the original album.

RUSH — bassist/keyboardist/singer Geddy Leeguitarist/singer Alex Lifesonand drummer/lyricist neil peart – maintains a large, globally passionate fan base that recognizes and respects the band’s singular, daring and perpetually exploratory songcraft that combines exceptional musicality, complex compositions and a distinctive lyrical flair. RUSH has sold over 25 million albums in the United States alone, with estimated worldwide sales of 45 million (and counting), and has received 24 gold accolades, 14 platinum, and three multi-album accolades. platinum. RUSH received seven grammys nominations, and the group was inducted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame in 1994 and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2013.

Comments are closed.