Michael R. Jackson Talks Weird Loop and More About Little-Known Facts

Little Known Facts is a weekly podcast hosted by stage and film actress Ilana Levine. With over 250 interviews to date with today’s most famous artists, Levine engages his celebrity guests in intimate conversations that are hilarious, vulnerable, revealing and inspiring. Ilana’s unique brand of celebrity interviewing is called “Truth Podcast” because her conversations are unfiltered, raw, honest and uniquely funny.

Today’s episode features Michael R. Jackson!

Jackson opened up about his upbringing, A Strange Loop, and more.

“I thought that, at most, I would get a nice off-Broadway production, and that’s what I got,” he said of his expectations for the Tony-winning musical. “So when I came to Playwrights Horizons, I felt like I had hit a home run.”

Listen to the full episode below!

Michael R. Jackson wrote the book, music and lyrics for the 2022 Tony Award winner for Best New Musical – A Strange Loop. It won the 2020 Pulitzer Prize and New York Drama Critics’ Circle winner A Strange Loop (which had its world premiere in 2019 at Playwrights Horizons in association with Page 73 Productions) has been called “a complete laparoscopy of the heart, soul and loins” and a “brave, jubilant musical of contagious melodies” by Ben Brantley for The New York Times. In The New Yorker, Vinson Cunningham wrote: “To watch this show is to enter, by compelling magic and debauched, in an ecstatic and infinitely more colorful version of MC Escher’s famous surrealist lithograph: the hand that rises from the page, becomes almost real, then draws another hand, which returns the favor.” In addition to A Strange Loop, he wrote a book, music and lyrics for White Girl in Danger. Awards and associations include a New Professional Theater Festival Award, a Jonathan Larson Grant, a Lincoln Center Emerging Artist Award, an ASCAP Foundation Harold Adamson Award, a Whiting Award, the Helen Merrill Award for Playwriting, an Outer Critics Circle Award, a Drama Desk Award, an Obie Award, an Antonyo Award, a Fred Ebb Award, a Windham-Campbell Prize and a Dramatists Guild Fellowship. He is an alumnus of the Interstate 73 writers group of Page 73.

Photo credit: Joey Stocks

Comments are closed.