Eight Outstanding Artists Revealed as 2021 Te Tumu Toi Arts Foundation Laureates


Eight Outstanding Artists Revealed as 2021 Te Tumu Toi Arts Foundation Laureates – and First A Moment in Time Award Announced

The Te Tumu Toi Arts Foundation is delighted to reveal the recipients of the 2021 Te Tumu Toi Arts Foundation Award. Eight artists have been identified as Aotearoa New Zealand’s Most Outstanding Artists for 2021 – artists whose practice is also having an impact in New Zealand. Additionally, they reveal a brand new award recognizing an important moment in Aotearoa’s artistic landscape.

2021 marks the 21st year of the Arts Foundation Te Tumu Toi Laureate Awards, created to celebrate and empower New Zealand’s most outstanding artists across a wide range of disciplines. Each year, the Foundation for the Arts recognizes outstanding artists with an unlabeled prize of $ 25,000.

This year, the eight new artists will join an alumnus of 105 laureates already celebrated and empowered to be exceptional in their field and to have the potential for a lasting career and lasting impact on Aotearoa New Zealand.

Past winners include Shane Cotton, Eleanor Catton, Whirimako Black, Don McGlashan, Taika Waititi, Lisa Reihana Bill Manhire and FAFSWAG – to name a few! All of the recipients can be viewed on our website.

Arts Foundation Te Tumu Toi Lead, Jo Blair said, “We couldn’t imagine eight artists more apt to represent the great mana of our Arts Foundation Te Tumu Toi Laurate Awards program – especially important as we celebrate our 21st year of awards. We’re incredibly proud of our heritage of supporting the arts, and our Laureate program truly embodies that. “

Following a rigorous selection process by a panel of independent experts during the month of July 2021, this year eight new Laureates are welcomed.

Recipients of the 2021 Fondation des arts laureates award

Nina Nawalowalo ONZM, Wellington – Theater
The 2021 Foundation for the Arts’ Te Tumu Toi laureate receives the Theresa Gattung Female Arts Practitioners Award

Shane Bosher, Auckland – Theater
The 2021 Foundation of the Arts Te Tumu Toi laureate receiving the Burr / Tatham Trust Award

Brett Graham, Taranaki – Visual Arts
Te Tumu Toi laureate of the Fondation des arts 2021 receiving the My Art Visual Arts award

Rangi Kipa, Taranaki – Ngā toi maori
2021 Te Tumu Toi Arts Foundation laureate

Maisey Rika, Whakatane – Music
Te Tumu Toi Foundation for the Arts 2021 laureate receives Jillian Friedlander Te Moana-nui-a-Kiwa award

Vasanti Unka, Auckland – Illustration
The 2021 Foundation for the Arts’ Te Tumu Toi laureate receives the Mallinson Rendel illustrator award

Harry Culy, Wellington – Photograph
2021 Arts Foundation Laureate Te Tumu Toi receiving the Marti Friedlander Photographic Award

Florian Habicht, Auckland – Cinema
2021 laureate of the Te Tumu Toi Arts Foundation receives the Dame Gaylene Preston Award for documentary filmmakers

Introducing a brand new award: A Moment In Time Award He Momo

When the independent selection panel met in June of this year to select eight award winners from the Foundation for the Arts, one name kept popping up. However, the person in question did not meet the traditional artist criteria for the selection of the Laureate. This kindled a flame that has been quietly burning within the Te Tumu Toi Whānau Foundation for the Arts for some time now – the need to recognize the influence and impact that belong to a particular moment in New Zealand’s artistic journey. .

The Moment In Time He Momo Award was created to recognize an actor of change who had a significant impact on our artistic and cultural landscape that year (or 12 months before). This year, the award was generously donated by Bruce and Tina Qin.

The honor – which will include a gift of $ 25,000 – will only be awarded in the year when such an individual or collective has made a significant impact and moved the needle on New Zealand’s artistic landscape – only it feeds our identity, our well-being or our culture, here or elsewhere. a field. The recipient does not have to be an artist himself, just someone who has an impact on the arts. The prize will not be offered regularly; just when the moment really calls for it.

Our first recipient is Nigel Borell, Curator of Maori Arts, the creative spirit behind
Toi Tū Toi Ora: Contemporary Maori Art – the historical inquiry exhibition which marks a real moment in the artistic landscape of Aotearoa.

© Scoop Media

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.